UFC 95: “Sanchez vs. Stevenson” Predictions

ufc95.jpg image by adamtool

I can’t say that I have been the best person at making predictions, just because this sport tends to have a lot of upsets and nothing is ever truly written in stone but here we go:

Diego Sanchez vs. Joe Stevenson

Lightweight: 145 to 155 lb (67 to 70 kg)

This fight is a very interesting fight because this will be the first time that we get to see Diego fight at 155 lb. The big question around this bout will have to be how will having to cut the weight, from fighting at 170 lb, affect Sanchez.

If the drop in weight does not end up playing a role in the fight then I can easily choose Sanchez to win by stoppage, however; if it does end up playing a factor, then I am still choosing Sanchez to win but by decision.

I just can’t come to think that Stevenson has the skills to beat Sanchez. Stevenson has never done well against bigger opponents, something that Sanchez will be by + 15 lb come fight time, and I just feel that this fight will end badly for Joe.

Nathan Marquardt vs. Wilson Gouveia

Middleweight: 171 to 185 lb (78 to 84 kg)

Here is a fight with title implications. The winner of this fight will most likely become the next No.1 contender in the middleweight division and I am sure that both of them are feeling the pressure right about now.

My pick to win this fight will be Marquardt; he is just the bigger fighter with better wrestling and top control that will in turn be the deciding factor. If Gouveia can keep it standing and force Marquardt into the late second or third round then he has a chance of taking advantage of the striking opportunities that will present themselves, but I don’t think that will happen and I see Marquardt trying to prove something in this fight by making a statement out of Gouveia. 

 Josh Koscheck vs. Paulo Thiago

Welterweight: 156 to 170 lb (71 to 77 kg)

For this fight my pick is Koscheck, not just because he is a top 5 welterweight and has over a handful of fights in the UFC but simply because I don’t know who Paulo Thiago really is. From what I have been able to read and see on YouTube is that he comes into this fight with a strong reputation from Brazil and an undefeated record.

That all being said, it won’t save him from the experience, power and skill set (four-time NCAA Division I All-American wrestling champion) that Koscheck brings to the table. I predict a decision and pray for an early stoppage.

Chael Sonnen vs. Demian Maia

Middleweight: 171 to 185 lb (78 to 84 kg)

This fight could have been the fight that Demian Maia needed to finally get his crack at UFC middleweight champion Anderson Silva but I don’t think Chael Sonnen will be that stepping stone.

Please don’t get me wrong, I am not saying Sonnen will some how be able to withstand the type of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (BJJ) that Maia brings to the table, I am just saying that he is not a big enough challenge to bring him to No.1 contender status.

Sonnen has proven in his past fights to have problems with strong BJJ practitioners and this fight will be no different, especially since this particular fighter is probably the best BJJ competitor in MMA today.

My prediction is that Sonnen takes a nap and is put to sleep half way through the first.

Dan Hardy vs. Rory Markham

Welterweight: 156 to 170 lb (71 to 77 kg)

This fight can be seen somewhat as the pick’em fight of the main card. Hardy will be trying to keep it standing and Markham will be looking to take advantage of what appears to be a lackluster ground game.

I am going to be picking Markham in this fight, simply because I see him having more of an advantage over Hardy on the ground then Hardy having an advantage over Markham on the feet.

I think that makes sense. Anyways, that’s it for now, I hope you enjoyed my predictions and on my next post we will see how well of a job I did.

Leave a comment